PUNJAB STATE ELECTRICITY REGULATORY COMMISSION SITE NO. 3, BLOCK B, SECTOR 18-A, MADHYA MARG, CHANDIGARH

Petition No. 18 of 2021 Date of hearing: 15.09.2021 Date of Order: 20.09.2021

Petition under Section 86 (1) (b) of the Electricity Act, 2003 seeking approval of procurement of 300 MW Solar Power on Long Term basis under the Power Sale Agreement dated 15.10.2020 entered into between Punjab State Power Corporation Ltd. and NHPC Ltd.

In the matter of : Punjab State Power Corporation Ltd., The Mall, Patiala.

Petitioner

Versus

- NHPC Limited NHPC Office Complex, Sector-33, Faridabad Harvana-1. 1210003.
- 2. M/s Avaada Sunrays Energy Pvt. Ltd. C-11, Sector-65, Noida, Gautam Buddha Nagar, Uttar Pradesh-201301.

.Respondents

Present:	Sh. Viswajeet Khanna, Chairperson Ms. Anjuli Chandra, Member Sh. Paramjeet Singh, Member
PSPCL:	Ms. Suparna Srivastava, Advocate
NHPC:	Sh. Rajiv Shankar Dvivedi, Advocate Sh. S.P Rathour, General Manager Sh. Naresh Bansal, Sr. Manager
Avaada Sunrays:	Sh. Ankur Sood, Advocate

Order

Vide Order dated 23.08.2021 Ws Avaada Sunray Energy Pvt. Ltd, the Solar Power Developer, was impleaded as a respondent in the petition. The counsel for the SPD appeared before the Commission. The counsel for PSPCL pointed out that the SPD is required to give firm commitment about import of solar PV cells and module/panels before the applicability of Basic Custom Duty (BCD), otherwise procurement of the said power will become uneconomical and would not be in the interest of the consumers.

The Commission directs SPD i.e. M/s Avada Sunrays Energy Pvt. Ltd to file an affidavit regarding its timelines for import of solar PV cells and module/ panels for the project under consideration, within 10 days with copy to the other parties (through hard copy & soft copy). PSPCL may file its reply to the affidavit filed by M/s Avaada Sunrays Energy Pvt. Ltd within a week thereafter, with a copy to the other parties (through hard copy & soft copy).

The petition shall be taken up for hearing on 27.10.2021 at 11.00 AM.

Sd/-

Sd/-

Sd/-

(Paramjeet Singh) Member

Chandigarh Dated: 20.09.2021 (Anjuli Chandra) Member (Viswajeet Khanna) Chairperson